Comedy Relief: Dead or Alive

I was at a big toy store in an upscale mall with my young nieces and nephew, watching my nieces go gaga over teeny tiny “Sylvanian Family” figures and my nephew over “Iron Man” robots, when I saw a young girl with her young father contemplating the purchase of what seemed like a baby-looking doll…

“Daddy!!!  ‘Baby Alive’!!!  ‘Baby Alive’!!!  Daddy, I want ‘Baby Alive,’ ‘Baby Alive’!!!”  insisted the young girl enthusiastically.

Young father took a look at the Php 5,000.00/xx price tag [ more than USD $ 100.00/xx ] and almost peed in his pants.

“Well… if I buy you “Baby Alive”… you’ll have “Daddy Dead”!!!  You want that???  protested the young father.

The young girl looked at her father sadly and started bursting in tears…

Of course the young father couldn’t bear it, so he relented…

“OK… ‘Daddy Dead’ it is…”  young father said with resignation, embracing his young daughter.

Harharhar!!!   😀   😀   😀

4 Comments

  1. Presy Guevara said,

    May 3, 2010 at 7:24 pm

    The marketers have long recognized the power of the young in boosting the economy. Hehehe.

  2. May 2, 2010 at 4:19 pm

    I have a term for them…. KIDULTS.

  3. Ipê Nazareno said,

    May 2, 2010 at 4:37 am

    This happened to me inside the “7 For All Mankind” shop at Rockwell. I promised her jeans and she brought me to this shop. I was shocked at the prices of the jeans. I told her that while 7 may be for all mankind, “Levi’s” is better for the pockets of her dad’s kind.

    Ahhhh daughters…. when they start to bat their eyelashes at you, it’s so hard to say no. If you think about it, any father would gladly sacrifice the cost of a few rounds of golf in exchange for lighting up the face of his daughter.

  4. Joel Cruz said,

    May 1, 2010 at 4:17 am

    This “Baby Alive” business is really ridiculous! My 6-year-old niece got this for Christmas and has thankfully grown tired of it. Mind you, the “accessories” such as the infant formula and diapers for this toy go for P100+ pesos EACH. What my cousin did was buy regular diapers (for humans) so the pretend play would be cheaper hehe!

    Besides, it made me think if a 6-year-old would fancy imagining taking care of a baby already??? I’d think it would stir envy rather than maternal instinct.


Leave a Reply

