New policy

From now on, I will no longer accept any comments from amorphous entities in cyberspace.  There are far too many stupid and irritating comments coming from nobodies who don’t have the guts to back their comments up with their actual identities.  I don’t see why anyone has to hide behind a pseudonym when I myself am laid out all over the place for everyone to see.  I don’t have anything to hide and neither should any of my readers.

From now on, comments with no real names, no email addresses that can be confirmed, and no reliable identity checks will no longer be allowed.

I don’t care if it means a lessening of the hits this blog receives per day.  Because I never did care about those things in the first place.

38 Comments

  1. June 24, 2010 at 7:01 am

    Jules:

    Great to hear from you!!!

    Warmest regards to Assunta.

    Cheers!!!

    Toto Gonzalez

  2. Jules Ledesma Arenas said,

    June 23, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    Thank you- Toto- as Im sure more than a few here will have an Aunt, Uncle- a relative who at every turn-would drive home a point – That of Heritage, Duty & the Honor and yes burden of ones’ Name. Its only now when vignettes and musings bring back with such poignant clarity REMEMBRANCE of… at the age of 6,7,8 these where taken as impedimenta while proceeding to attack the box of Chocolates and all the sweets at the table across her pantry at our 6th ST. Bacolod residence. If you opened a thread… ‘Things my ….. told me… that thread if it already doesnt exist would be a literal POST wall. The anecdotal is I REALIZE NOW and as this SITE AS MY PROOF OF CONCEPT- the way IT SHOULD BE SHARED WITH OUR PROGENY OR RELATIVES- whatever be it. Madamo guid na Salamat, I’ll say THIS MUCH- I’m certain She is Smiling at ME- knowing SHE DID GET through to me. Her Beloved La Fortuna isn’t only FINE-IT’S VERILY MORE THAN JUST FINE. Deo Favante tita Juliet. We did it.

  3. February 7, 2010 at 5:54 am

    Jules:

    My belated condolences on the passing of your Tita Julieta Ledesma. I was so “out of it” that time I was unable to call you.

    Toto Gonzalez

  4. February 7, 2010 at 4:11 am

    I’d rather BE ESSE than quam videri anyday 2x on Sundays.
    2 POINTS 1. PROVENANCE – n. Origin /Source frm. Proven- may be established to be VALID/RIGHT – EITHER thru argument or evidence.
    2. IF WE ARE “CONCERNED” about the familles cut direct.. I’d
    suffer that as i Indeed have- than have no HISTORICAL, PROVEN AND FAITHFULLY chronicled REMEMBRANCE OF …. Your CHRONICLES once theyre synched and matrixed linked like a Thomson study Bible May even bring to the fore new DISCOVERY… BY its ESSENCE ALREADY SELF
    -FULFILLING. IF ONLY FOR THIS -THEY shall by PROVENANCE
    be FAITHFUL TO OUR HERITAGE. you can’t make an omelette… Much obliged and grateful to be registered at your site. Deo Favante.

  5. October 19, 2009 at 7:25 am

    Myles:

    It’s perfectly fine with me. Much better than all that irresponsible nonsense going on. 🙂

    Cheers!!!

    Toto Gonzalez

  6. Myles Garcia said,

    October 19, 2009 at 7:21 am

    Jane,

    well…yeah. Look how much leaner the threads have become. Pretty soon we/you may be reading only Toto’s threads.

  7. jane agsalud said,

    October 18, 2009 at 1:53 am

    a smart and truly inspired decision! some of your posters — or most of them — enjoy browbeating others and trhowing around acidic sarcasm without being accountable for their words. cowards!

  8. October 11, 2009 at 3:30 am

    jeremiah villa, please be reminded:

    From now on, comments with no real names, no email addresses that can be confirmed, and no reliable identity checks will no longer be allowed.

    Toto Gonzalez

  9. jeremiah villa said,

    October 11, 2009 at 2:26 am

    btw, tito danding has now publicly declared a “no preference” stance over the two nephews. i know who tita gretchen prefers though.

  10. jeremiah villa said,

    October 11, 2009 at 2:10 am

    same here zippo. when i wrote what i thought was a very generic post about my grand mama, an aunt, who has since passed on, was livid and threatened to “unmask” daw my side of our family’s scheming ways to “covet” a big chunk of the clan’s vast estate. ON THIS BLOG. wouldnt that be a hoot?, she sneered.

    she told me she correctly “guessed” the identities of the prominent people being “talked” about here and warned that if i didnt acquiesce, she would join the fray and do the same daw to me, my parents, and my “other” lola. although i never planned on airing my family’s dirty laundry in public (only the not-so-dirty frette linens of an OC uncle lol) i unhappily relented. my hag of an aunt keeled over and died soon after. instant karma? who knows.
    on second thought, maybe i should “talk” about her profligate ways that almost sent her husband’s family to the poor house. lol.

    anyway, i see nothing wrong with posting anonymously. toto could sift through the garbage and post the ones he thinks are worth posting.

  11. Jules B. Vergel de Dios said,

    October 10, 2009 at 11:13 pm

    Myles:

    Ur making me smile hard back here…
    these sensational guys (including)
    the guy ^ me
    (peace ZiPPO-zippity-dippity-do)
    [special mention: G.I.]
    will be in Such precarious situations
    if they show their Le Fantôme de L’opéra-side

    hihihi ^_^

    xOxO

  12. October 10, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    zippo, please be reminded:

    From now on, comments with no real names, no email addresses that can be confirmed, and no reliable identity checks will no longer be allowed.

    Toto Gonzalez

  13. zippo said,

    October 10, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    Still thinking whether to un-mask myself. My family members are fans of this blog (although they are lurkers). I might get into trouble with them.

    Z (happily lurking)

  14. Myles Garcia said,

    October 9, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    No hay mas? Where’s zippy? Peri (altho I think I know who peri is)? Tsismissy? Irames? Ms. alpahbet soup-djxyljeoturdslegs? Paquito? And we used to have a jewel expert here? What happened to him/her?

    Why has the well dried up when there are torrents of water??

  15. Jules B. Vergel de Dios said,

    October 9, 2009 at 1:46 pm

    Btw,
    I blog in here
    from time to time…

    UNMASKiNGLY yours,
    Jules

    xOxO

  16. Myles Garcia said,

    October 7, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    Will we be hearing again from GI? Such a funny, erudite poster; sharp as a tack.

    I, for one, will be missing Garganta I.

  17. Ian Culibao said,

    October 7, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    I gasped when I read your post. 🙂 This reminds me of a masqued ball, where people keep guessing about the company till they ‘unmask’ themselves at a certain point. I’m sure your blog will continue to be engaging and lively.

  18. Paz Atienza said,

    October 6, 2009 at 4:12 am

    Hello Everyone,

    Yes, yes, yes… I have revealed my true identity more than a year ago. It was Toto who addressed me as Cousin Paz since we are related in a “variety of ways” judging from the way our very complex family tree was traced. His posts written more than 2 years ago reveal this.

    Thanks Presy for your comment.

    Paz Atienza

  19. Presy Guevara said,

    October 5, 2009 at 5:02 pm

    Toto, following this is my email to you giving the information you requested.

    Larry, thanks for being frank and forward. I’m still praying for Andres. I have much enjoyed his postings and sincerely wish him full recovery.

    I believe Cousin Paz has revealed her true name much much earlier as traceable to the early proliferation of this blog. I enjoyed her postings too among the many others that contributed witty comments and reliable statements of facts.

  20. Sabin Arranz said,

    October 5, 2009 at 4:40 pm

    So what were everyone’s favorite pseudonyms?

    I really liked issima, garganta inflamada, babblefish, and talagang tsismoso.

    🙂

  21. October 4, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    To all the others who are wondering why their comments are not seeing print:

    We will need your verifiable real name, address, and cellphone number for you to continue commenting in this blog. Email to augustomrgonzaleziii@yahoo.com .

    There are just too many pranksters out there.

    Thank you.

    Toto Gonzalez

  22. sheryl manago said,

    October 4, 2009 at 9:40 am

    guessing game starts now.

  23. Sabin Arranz said,

    October 4, 2009 at 2:39 am

    Interesting. But like Cris said, it’s your show.

    Now that everyone will be using their names, I’m curious about what everyone’s old pseudonyms were.

  24. October 3, 2009 at 11:31 pm

    NOW to make this a miraculous ( we WERE spared by GOD from Pepeng ) SUNDAY bloody SUNDAY ( think Bloody Marym. dypsomaniacs ) SHALL WE UNMASK our psuedonames and burn them in a bonfire of vanities and profanities,

    I can satart the ball rolling, our dear ISLA is ANDRES, who needs OUR fervent prayers as he is fagile and could be very ILL.

    Presy is THUNDERNUT, my dearest new email friend. He lives far from our fair isles.

    REVEAL THY SELVES, Zippi, G,I, and my dearest LIDING, also IRAMES, issima, cousin paz and many MANY MORE….. PLEASE so we will AT LAST be human beings who care instead of MASKS where we ran to hide.

    I have awaited for this moment for a FULL year and a half and sometimes try to GUESS as you all DO, the real identities of my CO-CONSPIRATORS, my ka-BLOG MATES, my cyber friends of distinction will be fleash and blood NOW and we can greet ech other CORDIALLY and with symbiotic RESPECT and admiration.

    I saw TOTO at Ado Escudero’s party this summer at the Villa and we were happy to chat up a lively storm.

    This way we may be multi dimentional and note just words on a PC screen.

    It will be a SCREAM, come out, come out and PLAY,

    ROLL CALL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  25. Alexandra Laguda Sotto said,

    October 3, 2009 at 2:02 pm

    That’s good journalism, Toto. It is irresponsible to print any unverified comment especially if it will hurt somebody. Bravo!

    Some so-called journalists just write wrong facts without checking and re-checking. They are tools of the “we bulong” brigade. At least, they should talk to get the viewpoint of the one they are maligning.

  26. Don Escudero said,

    October 3, 2009 at 10:35 am

    Hello again, Toto. Just read about about the trashing your basement took. Call if you feel the need of disposing something. Maybe we can find some treasure you don’t need. At flood prices, heh-heh.

  27. Don Escudero said,

    October 3, 2009 at 10:21 am

    Wonderful move, Toto. Was always uncomfortable about being opinionated but not putting down my full identity and then being trashed by someone who won’t give you the courtesy of his name. Not everybody is as forthcoming as Larry. You can disagree with him but at least he stands for it. Btw Claire, Elbaz and Westwood rock!

  28. sheryl manago said,

    October 3, 2009 at 12:22 am

    that’s better! i miss the posts about old philippines.

  29. October 2, 2009 at 9:57 am

    I’ve got to be ME, I’ve got to be FREE !

    Off topic, for a breather dearest posters, readers and provocateurs…..

    Log on to Style.com or nytimes.com and see the 2010 Spring Collections of Paris, London, Milan and Nueva York.

  30. Mon Yadao said,

    October 2, 2009 at 1:17 am

    Your page. Your rules.

  31. marco philippe araneta said,

    October 1, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    ok, that’s just fair. 🙂

  32. Presy Guevara said,

    October 1, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    Great decision, Toto. On with pleasant exchange of memories, inspiring ideas, and beneficial knowledge. Bye bye bickerings, personal attacks, and self-promotion. I celebrate this cleansing. I’m with you all the way. Alleluia!

  33. Cris Santos-Salazar said,

    October 1, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    Darn, I liked my cute pseudonym. But, alrighty. It’s your show. : )

  34. Mike V. Jugo said,

    October 1, 2009 at 2:23 pm

    Great decision! 😀 God bless!

  35. October 1, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    Thanks, Taddy!!!

    Now, back to your stories about Old Bacolor and Old Pampanga…

    Cheers!!!

    Toto Gonzalez

  36. Dr. Taddy Buyson Gonzales said,

    October 1, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    Well done, Toto!!

    It’s your call and why not..

  37. October 1, 2009 at 11:47 am

    Thank you, Toffee!!!

    We have to get rid of people with no integrity here.

    Cheers!!!

    Toto Gonzalez

  38. Toffee Tionko said,

    October 1, 2009 at 10:46 am

    That’s fine by me.

    Cheers!


Leave a Reply

