Fruit Batty

I’m not a fruit lover, unlike my late paternal and maternal grandmothers, my late mother, my sister, and my Korean sister-in-law.  But I discovered that I could eat tons of fresh fruits in Negros Oriental…

In Vallehermoso town, We found ourselves in hilly orchards of “lanzones,” “rambutan,” and other fruits.  The trees were dripping with fruits!!!  Thanks to the generosity of the owners, We were left to our own devices for a little more than an hour…  So we just picked at any fruit within arm’s reach.  They were sooooo SWEET and SUCCULENT!!!  Even the very few sour ones were still delicious.  Until then, this city kid had no idea that fruits directly picked from the trees tasted incredibly better than those in refrigerated supermarket shelves!!!  I just ate and ate and ate until I ballooned like those horrible, spoiled children in “Willie Wonka and the Chocolate Factory”…!!!  

Ah, the great pleasures of the Philippine countryside!!!  Eat your hearts out, expats!!!   😛   😛   😛

3 Comments

  1. larry leviste said,

    September 23, 2009 at 3:49 am

    A second childhood COUNTRY spree is what I DIAGNOZE to all the posters in this blog. Just READ how giddy, rejuvinated and YOUNG Toto seems to be.

    It’s also all that fresh air and OXYGEN infusion.

    The greatest natural high. Besides my doctora siblings say only 20 percent of the CITY air is breathable, the rest is slowing strangling us.

    I just love jaunts to the boucolic countryside. It the greatest RECOURSE.

    THRUST me.

  2. Presy Guevara said,

    September 22, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    Yahh, Toto. Rub it in. Don’t forget though the medicinal values of trees. The Philippines has lots of them.

  3. maiden said,

    September 22, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    Gawsh, you make my mouth water! City-bred that I am, picking the sweet fruits over the sour is always a hit and miss thing. Not so my mom, whose childhood forays into the countryside and tales of picking juicy, sweet and plump tree-ripened fruits during harvest season, make buying them from the grocery seem rather stale and boring in comparison.

    Welcome back from your trip. 🙂


Leave a Reply

