Comedy Relief: Do us Part

A dear family friend, a beautiful Filipina lady in her early 60s, was nursing her ailing Belgian husband, a much older man in his late 70s, in Northern California.  They had had a wonderful life together, as he was a top executive of a large multinational corporation and they had been assigned to the best cities in Europe, the United States, Asia, and South America.  They had lived very well and had two sons and two daughters, now grown and married.  But as with all good things, it had all started to end…

As the archetypal Filipina wife, She herself took good care of her ailing husband, day in and day out.  She fed him, bathed him, kept him constant company, walked him around, drove him around town, and kept such a wonderful home that he was never in want of anything.  Aside from that, She managed to take care of herself and remain a beautiful woman.  She was the perfect wife!!!

A saintly aunt of mine visited her one day and witnessed all the love and care she was lavishing on her ailing husband.  My aunt admired her and commiserated with her.  My aunt assured her:  “You should know that I’ve been praying for him constantly, everywhere I go:  Guadalupe, Montreal, Lourdes, Fatima, La Salette, Medjugorje…  I always pray for him!!!”

The wife’s facial expression turned quizzical and alarmed, and she very oddly responded:  “Ay, ay, ay!!!  Don’t pray so hard for him, Tita… he might not die anymore!!!  I want to be free of all these troubles soon!!!”   😛   😛   😛

Saintly Aunt’s jaws dropped as She was totally shocked!!!   😛   😛   😛

*LOLOLOLSSZZZ!!!*

27 Comments

  1. zippo said,

    November 19, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    GI,

    Villegas died in 1985.

    A few years back, Salonga admitted in an interview that he believed that Marcos was NOT involved in the Plaza Miranda bombing. A few years thereafter, Joma Sison admitted that he ordered the Plaza Miranda bombing.

    Z 🙂

  2. Garganta Inflamada said,

    November 18, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    Zip,

    Actually, it all started with the infamous Plaza Miranda bombing in 1971 when the then-Liberal Party stalwarts were badly injured: Jovito Salonga, Mitra, Serging Osmema, Gerry Roxas, among others. And noticeably absent at the moment were Ninoy Aquino and Manila Mayor Villegas. They never did solve that, did they? (BTW, where is Villegas now? Still x-dressing in Calif? 🙂 ) And then of course, some 11 months later, Marcia Law came a-calling.

  3. zippo said,

    November 18, 2008 at 1:02 am

    Yes, periphery. A lot of Filipinos were either killed or injured because of the series of bombings in 1980 perpetrated by Steve Psinakis and his ilk. The most famous victim was the singer, Nonoy Zuniga, who lost a leg when the Philippine Plaza was bombed (he was then moonlighting as a Lounge Singer in order to fund his way through Medical School).

  4. periphery said,

    November 17, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    Wait wait… really? I was already a boy *vaguely* aware of my surroundings and of current events in the 70s. But I didn’t know this… Steve Psinakis, Geni’s dad? Geni’s what I call “a friend by indirection”, i.e. my acquaintance, because she is a friend of some of my friends. Ngek… I learn something new everyday.

  5. zippo said,

    November 17, 2008 at 3:05 am

    G.I.

    That was Doris Nuval-Baffrey. That singular act of bombing the ASTA Convention brought down the Philippine Tourism industry which was booming in the 1970s. Baffrey was part of the Light-A-Fire Movement which was funded by the likes of Steve Psinakis.

    Z

  6. Garganta Inflamada said,

    November 15, 2008 at 7:59 am

    josecruz,

    Exactly. See my comment in the 1st November 2008 thread. I purposely did not want to sully my earlier posts on this thread about the more positive contributions of Austria with that sociopath’s name.

    BTW, in the upcoming movie for December, VALKYRIE, Tom Cruise (if you can believe it) will star as Count Claus von Stauffenberg, the one-eyed German officer, who tried to assassinate der Fuhrer in that botched attempt somewhere in some camp. I wonder if the pretty boy Scientologist will be jumping up and down the sofas of Hitler. This same role was played by the late Brad Davis (another ‘shrimp’) in a 1990 TV version of the last days of that awful regime.

    BTW, whatever happened to that Doris something-or-other who planted a bomb in the PICC during that ASTA convention in 1980? So far, she’s the only real-life saboteur I have met. I had the strange pleasure of meeting her in New York a few months before her uhmmm, cowardly act.

    G.I.

  7. josecruz said,

    November 13, 2008 at 3:10 am

    Hitler was Austrian

  8. jeremiah said,

    November 10, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    erratum:

    ay, pardon! my tita tells me that it was the construction of the LRT (non mRT) pala that the belgian personages in this thread were involved in. although they still maintain a certain aura of aristocracy daw, the belgian’s millions are long gone. as if you guys care! lolz.

  9. zippo said,

    November 7, 2008 at 2:00 am

    Thanks for the clarification GI.

    Z 🙂

  10. Garganta Inflamada said,

    November 5, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    Zip, here’s what Wikipedia says about good old Sigmund:

    “… was born on 6 May, 1856 to Galician Jewish parents in Příbor (German: Freiberg in Mähren), Moravia, Austrian Empire (now Czech Republic). His father Jakob, was 41, a wool merchant, and had two children by a previous marriage. His mother Amalié (née Nathansohn), the third wife of Jakob, was 21. He was the first of their eight children and owing to his precocious intellect, his parents favoured him over his siblings from the early stages of his childhood; and despite their poverty, they sacrificed everything to give him a proper education. Due to the economic crisis of 1857, Freud’s father lost his business, and the family moved first to Leipzig before settling in Vienna. In 1865, Sigmund entered the Leopoldstädter Kommunal-Realgymnasium, a prominent high school. Freud was an outstanding pupil and graduated the Matura in 1873 with honors. etc., etc. ”

    Per that report, I first thought he was a Sephardic Jew (coming from Galicia, Spain) — but which didn’t make sense. The Jews always moved west; not back East. Then on further research, it turns out that there is a western province of Poland, also called ‘Galicia.’ So, he was born within the borders of the Austro-Hungaran empire at the time; hence ‘Austrian.’ So, a mutt. Now, if he has ‘Galician’ roots; then my great-great-grandfather is also from Galicia — so baka magpinsan kami ni Siggy?? Kaya? A spiritualist once told me that I have the same mother in this present life as I had in a previous one; that that the previous life that she could read, was in Budapest, Hungary; and unfortunately, in that previous life, I expired rather early due to a rare blood disorder. You wouldn’t know how close to reality that reading is.

    G.I.

  11. November 5, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    Oh Paris, I smoke Marlboro Mediums l00’s in a flip-top box. I knew we were kindred spirits.

    Summer 2009, I will be in San Fran so I shall regale you about the funniest ( I mean Bladder-breaking ) accounts of old, new and future Manille.

    Suddenly all that is BLACK is the new BLACK. Long live President Obama ! May he HEAL the whole US of A.

    PLEASE Manila Blogmates, let us meet ! I would love to put faces on all those WITTY VERSES and HISTORICAL in-your-face storytelling. I beseech and implore you Jeremiah, Zippo, G.I. Lid*ng, Periphery et al.

  12. IslaSanLuisParis said,

    November 5, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    Larry, my dear blogmate: won’t make it to Manille before Christmas as I have work coming out of my ears but if thou art in San Francisco permanently, at some point in 2009 my old skeleton would love to be enthralled by your accounts of Old Manila.

  13. zippo said,

    November 5, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    GI,

    Wasn’t Freud Czech?

    Now there’s another beautiful city: Prague.

    Z 🙂

  14. November 5, 2008 at 3:44 am

    Speaking of PRESIDENT OBAMA, it’s election eve here in Washington and it’s over in 24 hours. I wonder how many MONTHS our 2010 elections will take ?

    SIGNS of the times, Alexander McQueen will introduce his McQ line for TARGET this Christmas.

    And I will BUSINESS CLASS my way back to the Philip-PINES next week. Pray tell, shall any of my MARVELOUS blogmates care to meet up for TEA and empathy ?

  15. zippo said,

    November 5, 2008 at 2:22 am

    GI,

    I’d prefer Eartha Kitt as the Baroness.

    Z 🙂

  16. IslaSanLuisParis said,

    November 5, 2008 at 12:42 am

    Well, well, well… I seem to have gotten it from all sides when I dared to suggest I’m not a great fan of Austria so allow me a few sentences in self-defence:

    Zippo, barring Schönbrunn (I much prefer Versailles) and Kurt Waldheim, I agree that Haydn and Apfel Strudel go well with Wiener Schnitzel and potato Rössti although the latter is also very common in my beloved Switzerland where some Pinoys as well flock to the La Prairie clinic, presumably so that their lederhosen and dirndls fit well during the next Oktoberfest at the Mandarin Oriental Manila.

    Garganta, indeed Sigmund Freud is high on that list but how about Carl Jung and his interpretation of dreams? As for Marie Antoinette, I’ll defend her “a capa y espada” (with the sword). She was maligned by the French Revolution’s propaganda machine and it has never been proven she even suggested the French eat Sacher Torte instead of baguettes.

    I’ll keep my peace regarding Larry’s equestrian activities although I thought that in an earlier post you said something about him breeding rabbits. But then, I may be wrong. It must be all that absinthe on election-night tonight, after having spent all evening baby-sitting my niece and nephew in their smoke-free apartment while my sister and brother-in-law went out and didn’t want to leave them alone with the new yaya. Marlboro’s are to me what crack is to Whitney Houston. Which brings me to La Maison Blanche’s future. Your description and characters make me think of one thing and one thing only: Truman Capote’s Black and White Ball at the Plaza.

  17. Thundernut said,

    November 4, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    GI, you struck again. I’m totally floored! ROFL. Black is a universal color for mourning, lest you forget. Re Austria, add Princess Elisabeth Amalie Eugenie?

  18. Garganta Inflamada said,

    November 4, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    Isla, re #8,

    Well, you forget Sigmund Freud and the patron saint of lost causes and looney first ladies, Marie Antoinette. And I thought Romy Schneider was one of the prettiest European actresses ever.

    And of course there’s the Vienna Boys Choir; and the Lippizaner stallions (I bet Larry could go for that combination 🙂 )…oh wait, those equines are actually Spanish (Andalusian if I’m not mistaken); and Johann Strauss and the waltz — one of the most sublime contributions of Austria to western civilization. (Of course, not a single one of the movie ‘von Trapps’ and even their cohorts, were actually Austrian.)

    So, with Obama just about in the White House, do you think a ‘darker’ version of THE SOUND OF MUSIC is too far behind? Beyonce or Jennifer Hudson as Maria? Denzel Washington or Brian Stokes Mitchell as the Keptain? Tina Turner as Baroness Elsa? Oprah as Mother Superior? Michael Jackson as Liesl? Of course, Rolf would have to be one of the lighter-skinned blacks…

  19. zippo said,

    November 4, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    ISLP,

    Don’t forget the Schloss Schönbrunn which, for me, is probably the most beautiful palace ever built.

    Oh, and Joseph Haydn, Apple Strudel, the Waltz, and Kurt Waldheim too.

    Z 🙂

  20. IslaSanLuisParis said,

    November 3, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    Garganta,
    Does anyone except Heidi and Helmut Berger look attractive in lederhosen and/or dirndls, and isn’t yodeling just the most seductive tune in the world?
    The only interesting thing, in my opinion, that Austria’s ever produced is Mozart, Wiener Schnitzel and Sacher Torte.

  21. jeremiah said,

    November 3, 2008 at 10:36 am

    garganta, you just reminded me of somebody whose “kabaduyan” was truly breathtaking.

    years ago, my tita in manila asked me if i could take an uber-rich amiga shop for furnishings for her houses in punta fuego and essensa. i gadly said yes. i couldn’t pass up the chance to help pick a few nice things for somebody with deep pockets at all the uppity to-the-trade shops at the san francisco design center!

    days before she arrived (with maids in tow) i asked a designer friend to come with us so we would have access to the design center using her designer license. i was excited.

    Dday at the san francisco design center: every time my friend and i would point out something we both thought was spectacular and to die for (an objet d art or something), our guest would scribble something on her little book. then she would glance at the newspaper she had been clutching all morning, and smiled to herself. this went on for a while. at the end of the tour, she blurted out these immortal words that make me cringe to this very day:

    “so, when are we going to geesee peenee?. it says here (pointing to a jc penney ad in the newspaper) that they have a huge sale on home furnisihngs today!”.

    she bought a truckload of stuff from the venerable store, crated them, and shipped them back home pronto. my tita says that her houses have become shrines to “geessee peenee” and everything that that house of impeccable style represents.

  22. November 3, 2008 at 3:35 am

    I would have loved to see the ” BAHAY TUBO ” con hielo. Jeremiah, please post a picture. I may paint it.

  23. Garganta Inflamada said,

    November 2, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    Re: jeremiah’s post #4 — why? Was the lady of the ‘bahay kubo’-born?

    I have an easier time picturing that rather than certain IRM relatives, H*rminio D*sini to be exact, who tried living in some remote Austrian schloss too, after making off with millions on that failed Westinghouse-Bataan nuclear plant deal — picking up some Hapsburg ways and Viennese manners — and then afterwards, sneaking back to ‘Pinas. I mean you can take the grifters outta the islands (and stuff’em in a castle) but you can’t take the ‘baduy’ outta dem. Can you picture those portly pinoys in lederhosen and dirndls? 🙂 🙂

    G.I.

  24. jeremiah said,

    November 2, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    the lady sooooo missed the philippines so the dutiful husband “imported” an authentic bahay kubo to belgium in the middle of winter. lol. there was nothing more incongruous than a bahay kubo half-blanketed in snow standing mighty proud next to a centuries old castle in the belgian countryside. i was floored. it was a sight straight out of the twilight zone.

  25. L*ding said,

    November 2, 2008 at 7:00 am

    A la recherché du temps perdu Toto.

  26. Garganta Inflamada said,

    November 1, 2008 at 5:48 pm

    🙂 🙂

  27. jeremiah said,

    November 1, 2008 at 2:33 pm

    the lady is from pangasinan and her belgian husband’s company was involved in the construction of the mrt?


Leave a Reply

