“Ahfee Hihstehr!” [ Happy Easter!” in Kapampangan ]

10 Comments

  1. Nona Pimentel said,

    February 26, 2012 at 2:27 am

    Toto,
    About Ahfee Hihstehr, it’s really amazing how most Kapangpangan pronounce words that start with H and words that start with vowels and affix H to the words…It’s is something singularly peculiar to the region I noticed. Then my son married a Kapangpangan and naturally now and then I hear the ‘peculiarity’ as expected, but mind you, very rarely does it happen if at all.. But what truly, truly amazed me was when my two year old ‘nieto’ who was just starting to talk had the same peculiarity. I mean if you have lived in the same region (which he does not) and speak the language and hear people speak day in and day out for years, one’s tendency is to acquire the peculiarity, right? But my nieto like I said, was just starting to talk and he already had the same ‘syndrome’ Ha,ha…really now I believe it’s more than orientation but more of genetic inclination, handed down to many generations thereafter.

  2. Ivan said,

    March 30, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    Hahahaha! Send me a p-mail about it!

  3. March 26, 2008 at 4:07 pm

    Ivan:

    I don’t want to be shot and neither would you… 🙂

    Toto Gonzalez

  4. Ivan said,

    March 26, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    Hi Toto! I’m back! Off topic… what’s it with all those “WANTED” posters all over Metro Manila? Entry on it please!!! 😛

  5. zippo said,

    March 25, 2008 at 11:51 am

    l*ding, if you’re devastated about Cory, I’m more devastated about the passing of one lady with substance.

    I shall always remember Tita Chito Madrigal-Collantes. As a kid, her mere presence at my mom’s parties would scare the bejeezuz out of me (she was still Miss Madrigal then during the 1970s). However, beneath that stern and steely facade lay a woman with a generous heart and a brilliant mind.

    She was probably the best and most gracious wife of a Foreign Affairs Minister/Secretary our country ever had.

    Z 😦

  6. zippo said,

    March 25, 2008 at 11:21 am

    Ahfee Hihstehr too Toto. High ope you ed a Blessed Olee Week.

    Z 🙂

  7. JLB said,

    March 25, 2008 at 8:14 am

    Also the demise of Mrs. Collantes…

    I admire President Aquino. She is a woman of steel. She said that she could count with her fingers who her real friends were during the 1970s. They felt they were the “pariahs” of Manila Society during those years. I feel so bad for her… she got her kindness and simplicity from her father Don Pepe and the fighting spirit from her mother Dona Metring… I hope she gets to see her youngest daughter Kris carry on her legacy.

  8. l*ding said,

    March 25, 2008 at 4:42 am

    I’m devastated about former President Corazon “Cory” Cojuangco-Aquino’s condition. I feel for her. She is so simple. Hope she recovers from this medical condition. I nearly cried last night.

  9. March 24, 2008 at 10:21 am

    cousin paz:

    *LOLSZ!!!*

    Toto Gonzalez

  10. cousin paz said,

    March 24, 2008 at 6:00 am

    Ay Toto,

    “High” can’t wait for this post…

    Paz


Leave a Reply

