Luggage

In the early 1960s, a rich Spanish mestizo businessman shacked up with the recently-separated pretty heiress of a grand Cebu family.

In Hong Kong, at Lane Crawford, the lady insisted that they purchase two entire suites of expensive Louis Vuitton luggage, costing a small fortune but something the gentleman could easily afford, for his and her use.

The gentleman said:  “Honey, why don’t we just buy the lookalikes there at Stanley Market???  I have a lot of money, you have a lot of money, Nobody will ever know that they’re not the real things…”

And the lady blurted out:  “I WILL KNOW!!!  I WILL FEEL IT!!!  I AM THE ‘REAL THING’ AND I WILL ONLY USE THE ‘REAL THINGS’!!!”      

The gentleman promptly purchased the two entire suites of Louis Vuitton luggage.

The lady told the gentleman that she would buy more of her leather goods at Hermes in Paris.

The gentleman just nodded:  “Anything you want, dear.”

Lucky Lady!!!

16 Comments

  1. February 11, 2008 at 7:43 pm

    = ))

  2. abcdefg said,

    November 2, 2007 at 8:15 am

    Wasn’t it a fake Hermes that “The Twins” were caught with in Kit*y G*’s book? There was also something about the fake Hermes mentioned in her book.

  3. Suzy said,

    September 15, 2007 at 6:21 am

    Does Imee or her mum use Miss Kitty luggage? BWAHHHHHHHH!!!

  4. zippo said,

    September 13, 2007 at 11:54 pm

    Leona Helmsley:

    My mom gave me a set of Tumi luggage. I have no complaints.

    Z 🙂

  5. Leona Helmsley said,

    September 13, 2007 at 6:01 pm

    Nope. Nothing like Samsonite or American Tourister. They can a beating any time.

  6. zippo said,

    September 13, 2007 at 12:20 pm

    Louis Vuitton:

    To each his/her own. For men’s leather goods (shoes not included), I prefer Loewe ( if only I didn’t have to think about tuition payments, amortizations, etc. ).

    But that’s just me.

    Z 🙂

  7. September 12, 2007 at 6:00 am

    Louis Vuitton is definitely a hot brand of handbags and accessories but I really prefer Chanel and this article just adds to my views. I am not much feeling the styles, I really would prefer to have a Chanel or even a Chloe it would even cost me less.

  8. taitai said,

    September 10, 2007 at 5:19 am

    Z,

    So, it was Ric*o all along!!!

    Sometime ago, he even came up with an interview saying that T*na never owned an LV.

    Thanks for the clarification.

    Taitai

  9. may marquez said,

    September 9, 2007 at 7:39 am

    zippo, I love reading you and G.I.’s comments. I became an avid fan of yours upon reading your story “TREAT” – since then I opened every comments in TOTO’s column ( no offense meant for you TOTO, the truth… you’re no. 1 in my list ). I can feel you are maka-MASA and have a pure heart. You and G.I’s comments bring me to the world of “somebody” in the high class society. Those exchanging comments really entertained me.

    Cheers to all!!!

  10. zippo said,

    September 8, 2007 at 10:28 am

    Dear readers, I’m sorry. I now feel ashamed for calling men carrying clutch bags at this day and age as “baduy.” I myself wear a lot of “baduy” things. Mea culpa…

  11. zippo said,

    September 8, 2007 at 10:24 am

    taitai:

    According to Kit*y G*’s “When Chi* Hits the Fan”, it was Rico who was caught in Paris with a fake LV. Not sure if it was a fake LV suitcase or a fake LV duffel bag/hand carry bag or a fake LV clutch bag ( now that’s the height [ no pun intended ] of “kabaduyan” ).

    Whatever it was, it couldn’t have been a fake “Cel*stina” minaudiere 🙂

    Z 🙂

  12. taitai said,

    September 8, 2007 at 7:03 am

    Is it true that T*na *campo was caught in Paris with a fake croc birkin? Or was it LV luggage?

  13. zippo said,

    September 7, 2007 at 6:07 am

    And while we’re in the topic of FAKES and REAL THINGS, let me just pay homage to a REAL SUPERSTAR.

    As many of you may know by now, LUCIANO PAVAROTTI has died. His voice has inspired me and uplifted me during some of my saddest moments ( try listening to his rendition of “Una Furtiva Lagrima” from the Opera “The Elixir of Love” during your darkest moments and you’ll understand me). Our Lord’s Choir of Angels has just gained a superstar.

    To paraphrase Puccini’s “Nessun Dorma”: “DORMI BENE O PRINCIPE. HAI VINTO!”

    Z 😦

  14. zippo said,

    September 7, 2007 at 5:57 am

    That’s a good one. My dad once attempted to buy a really nice fake Hermes for my mom. My mom said, “I’m your REAL wife, I deserve the REAL stuff. Go buy the fake ones for your fake wife.”

    They separated a few years thereafter.

    Z 🙂

  15. divina said,

    September 6, 2007 at 4:13 pm

    … and what about the flight that was held up because a couple had faux Louis Vuittons?

  16. Farah Faucet Diva? said,

    September 6, 2007 at 3:43 pm

    LV luggage is just so… baduy, so garish ( as are most of these designer brands ). Malm or Coach is more discreet. But why bother with these stupid designer brands ( as most Manila falls victim to ), when your luggage will get all banged up and scraped anyway – di va????

    But I love Hermes’ cologne.

    Di va? 🙂


Leave a Reply

