The Families of Old Malabon [ Tambobong ]

[ I wonder if I can get dear ol' Mike Santos and Monchet Lucas to help me with this... ]

ANDRES.

BAUTISTA.

BERNARDO.

BLAS.

BORJA.

BOSCH.

CACNIO.

CAMUS.

CAYCO.

CHIKIAMCO.

DALUPAN.

DAZA.

DE JESUS.

DE LOS SANTOS [ Epifanio ].

DIONISIO.

GABRIEL.

GAZA.

GOZON.

GUTIERREZ.

HIZON.

IBAVIOSA.

IGNACIO.

JOSON.

LAZARO.

LUCAS.

LUNA.

One side of the Luna is descended from the Rufino;  one of their forebears was Bernabela Rufino.

MANAPAT.

MARCELO.

“Pepe” Marcelo was a chemical engineer who started many industries.

MARONILLA.

MARTINEZ.

NAVAL.

NEPOMUCENO.

ORTEGA.

PAEZ.

PASCUAL.

RIVERA.

ROMERO.

ROQUE.

SALAO.

SANCIANGCO [ Gregorio ].

SANTOS.

SANTOS.

SIOCHI.

SYJUCO.

TANCHOCO.

TIANGCO.

OLD TAMBOBONG, MORONG [ NAVOTAS ]:

DEL ROSARIO [ related to the Andres family ].

LACHENAL.

NAVAL.

ROLDAN.

Acknowledgments:  Vicente Roman Santos Santos, Richard Tuason-Sanchez Bautista, multi-awarded journalist and the former Press Secretary during the Ramos and the Estrada administrations Rodolfo “Rod” T. Reyes.

86 Comments

  1. Krenz Kaye Rutia said,

    September 16, 2014 at 11:37 pm

    I happen to be working at our family genealogy and came across this blog, this is inspiring! Thank you for putting this up! :)

    My great grandmother is Agapita Martinez Roque who married Francisco Cruz Rutia in 1925. My great-great grandparents are Romero Roque and Maria Martinez. If anyone happens to know them or someone you know is related to them, please help me trace our family roots. Feel free to contact me at rutiakrenz@gmail.com

    Thanks! :)

  2. Alvin Atienza Ignacio said,

    August 27, 2014 at 1:30 am

    I agree without which is why it is a shot in the dark with what I asked of you. The Gazas, Gonzales, de Guzmans and the Guillens are relatives. If the birth certificates were not burned.. It would be much easier… Thanks.

  3. richard tuason-sanchez bautista said,

    August 22, 2014 at 3:19 pm

    Alvin, it is hard to trace the Ignacio family tree due to the prolific characteristics of the male. My neighbor Judge David Ignacio’s family cannot even trace their relatives relation on how they are blood level relation. there are numerous side lines in the family.

  4. Alvin Atienza Ignacio said,

    August 4, 2014 at 5:52 pm

    I am a descendant of Ignacio Clan of Tanong, if there are any relations to this lineage? I would to trace it. Thank you….

    Don Pedro Buensuceso -m- Celia ________ (owned Casco Business)

    Genoveva Buensuceso-m- Emiliano Aguilar
    Daniel Aguilar

    Angela Buensuceso Aguilar -m- Engr Jose Gonzales Ignacio

    I. Jose Ignacio Jr.
    II. Cecilia Ignacio -m- Lt Col. Modesto Castaneda, PMA, PA
    III. Genoveva Ignacio -m- Valeriano Bueno Sr.
    IV. Emiliano Ignacio -m- Loreto Sioson
    V. Danilo (Daniel) Ignacio -m- Benita Adoptante Atienza
    VI. Angelina Ignacio -m- Eric Lasanen
    VII. Emelinda Ignacio- Alonso Amoranto

  5. Alvin Ignacio said,

    August 4, 2014 at 6:48 am

    My great grandparents are Don Pedro Ignacio and Celia Gonzales of Tañong, who had 3 children , Jose Sr., Genoveva and Cecilia. My grandfather married Angela Aguilar and had 7 children:
    Jose Jr.
    Cecilia – Col. Modesto Castaneda
    Genoveva – Valeriano Bueno Sr.
    Emiliano – Nene Sioson
    Danilo Sr – Benita Atienza
    Angelina- Eric Lazanen
    Emelinda- Al Amoranto
    If any information of any other families related to us, feel free to send me an email.

  6. Kathy Llanera said,

    June 17, 2014 at 1:00 pm

    Hi, I,m a granddaughter of Clara Lazaro vda. De Llanera. I would like some help in tracing my lola’s roots. Can someone tell me who her parents were? Her family was from Malabon.

  7. Ronald Gozon said,

    April 8, 2014 at 1:51 pm

    Hi, I would like to trace my roots and wondering if there are any relatives of Don Hilarion Gozon in Malabon?

    Thanks,
    Ronald

  8. Thom de Dios said,

    December 3, 2013 at 4:36 pm

    good day to everyone. i’m a de Dios searching for possible relatives in Malabon. My father is Primitivo Cabacungan-de Dios. My grandfather’s name is Felipe de Dios (I don’t know his middle name). I would like to know if someone here knows who has any de Dios family tree or where I can get information (birth certificate/others) since all records before WW2 were destroyed.

    Thanks.

    – Thom C. de Dios

  9. November 27, 2013 at 9:05 am

    Hi! I am the grand daughter of Filomena Herrera Legaspi of Malabon. I want to trace our roots and surprisingly I saw this website.

  10. Cristina Bautista Hitt said,

    November 17, 2013 at 5:39 am

    Hello! I am the daughter of Lydia Ignacio Bautista (one of the daughters of Basilio Bautista and Gertrudes). Just surprised to discover this website!

  11. ej veloria said,

    October 29, 2013 at 11:45 am

    Hi I’m EJ Veloria, researcher from Saksi, GMA7. We will be producing a story about Don Simeon Bernardo. May mga nakakaalam po ba sa inyo ng contact number ng Bernardo family para mainterview po namin sila? Any help will be highly appreciated. You may reach me via email: ejveloria@gmail.com. Maraming salamat po.

  12. Louie A. de Jesus said,

    October 28, 2013 at 6:58 am

    Hi Ronel, if amando & teresita are your grandparents, then that makes me your grand uncle as amando (only son of Tita Naty) is my first cousin!
    Can u give me your email address as it would be better to communicate that way or better still you can contact me on my email – ancestree33@yahoo.com

  13. June 15, 2013 at 12:48 pm

    how about the pascual

  14. Ronel Bautista said,

    June 8, 2013 at 1:11 pm

    Hello Ms. Louie :)

    Actually, they’re my grandparents ( Amando and Teresita )
    and we’re still living here in Hulong Duhat, Malabon :)

  15. Louie de Jesus said,

    May 28, 2013 at 11:27 pm

    hi ronel,
    am just wondering is your parents amando & teresita bautista? i have a relative (natividad austria bautista) thru my mother side who lived before in hulong duhat, malabon but have lost contact with her kins long time ago? tita naty was married to santos bautista, if you are related to them, you maybe my nephew as amando, tita naty’ son, is my first cousin!

  16. Ronel Bautista said,

    May 20, 2013 at 4:44 pm

    Hi!

    I’m Ronel Bautista, I live along Don Basilio Bautista blvd, near Sulucan in Hulong Duhat My grandfather was Amando Bautista ( Lolo Kuro as we call him ). From what I know, Don Basilio Bautista is my great great grandfather ( it’s not really accurate but I am related to him )

    I have little information about my lineage. I want to learn and know more about my heritage.

  17. MARIA CHRISTINA CASTANARES said,

    May 2, 2013 at 11:06 pm

    Yes – I too attended St. James Academy in Malabon up until 3rd grade.
    Chiki? I haven’t met him. If I can please have his contact information
    that would be great.

    In response Ms. Carmen Santos Bautista – Yes I am definitely related to Lizzie Bautista
    she is my mother’s sister and yes definitely I am Tommy Bautista’s eldest grandchild and Dna Tuding Bautista is my great grandmother.

  18. jomel martin said,

    November 15, 2012 at 10:36 pm

    Rufino B. Martin … around 1900 ipinanganak sa malabon

  19. carmen santos bautista said,

    September 8, 2012 at 7:22 pm

    not sure if my previous comments went in but nevertheless,just want to say that i lived across the house of poet /writer Ildefonso Santos.Street was Baens then changed to Gervacio. Saw him often watering his orchids!!. Played and went to school with some of his grandchildren,Ritchie, Butch and Pinky.”Tita Ellen” sent paperdolls from the US.Went to school with Miguelita Santos and Sarah Salao at St.James Academy(San Bartolome)….I forwarded this discovery to my classmate and good friend Eva de Jesus because I think Maria Christina is related to LIzzie Bautista, the daughter of Tommy Bautista,son of “Dna.Tuding” Bautista.

  20. Toti Pascual said,

    September 1, 2012 at 12:02 am

    @Maria Christina Castanares – you are definitely related to Basilio Bautista III (my classmate in St. James, Malabon). We call each other ‘Insan’ (coming from the same Pascual heritage). I was born in Navotas. I can link you up with Chiki (Basilio Bautista III) if you like. He still lives in their ancestral home in Malabon. I just met with him last June in Manila. – Toti Pascual (Porter Ranch, CA)

  21. JULIANO Z. K. PANGANIBAN said,

    July 14, 2012 at 1:49 am

    sir enrique bustos,

    i’m tracing the siblings of andres rodriguez chua of batac, ilocos norte and a sibling, FAUSTINA “nana paus” RODRIGUEZ had married a CHAN of Malabon. They had a daughter then a grandson – MAXIMO CHAN. do you have any data in your extensive records of a CHAN in Malabon Families? I’d appreciate any lead.

    dr. juliano panganiban of st luke’s medical center, QC.

  22. July 10, 2012 at 6:50 am

    Melo:

    We have a policy that comments with no real names, no email addresses that can be confirmed, and no reliable identity checks will not be allowed.

    Please upload your comment again with the requisite information.

    Thank you.

    Toto Gonzalez

  23. Maria Christina Castanares said,

    July 6, 2012 at 10:18 pm

    Hello,
    My name is Maria Christina Castanares and I am originally from Malabon. I lived on the street named after my great grandfather Don Basilio Bautista. His son Tomas Bautista was married to my grandmother Leonora Lazaro Bautista. I’m looking into my family lineage but am finding it difficult as I am in the United States.

  24. edwin coronel said,

    June 8, 2012 at 2:58 am

    Gregorio Coronel was appointed to the Supreme Council of the Katipunan and placed in charge of the Basahan ng Bayan (people’s reading room or library) in March 1896. Then in August 24, 1896 when Bonifacio formed his War Cabinet, Gregorio along with Ramon Bernardo and Vicente Fernandez were appointed Division Generals; tasked with strategic planning for the occupation of Manila..Gregorio Coronel is our great grandfather.

    http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.familysearch.org%2FEng%2FSearch%2Figi%2Findividual_record.asp%3Frecid%3D100219737036%26lds%3D1%26region%3D1%26regionfriendly%26juris1%26juris2%26juris3%26juris4%26juris1friendly%26juris2friendly%26juris3friendly%26juris4friendly&h=hAQEslycO

  25. ronnie romero said,

    June 6, 2012 at 3:51 pm

    Please include Herrera too, they are the original creator of the Pancit Palabok then became Pancit Malabon,,, actually we received a recognition from the Malabon municipal government about this, and we are keeping a very old news paper clippings about this.

  26. Rey S.Goco said,

    May 8, 2012 at 1:23 am

    Not to forget the GOCO clan who are related to the Juat, Sevilla and others.

  27. February 29, 2012 at 12:57 am

    Proud to live in Potrero in my entire life!!! :) Kristine Ignacio – Tongco -RIvera

  28. Ron Santos de Jesus said,

    December 16, 2011 at 5:48 am

    Thanks Sir Edgardo Celestino for your inputs, but it is on de Jesus side that made me related to Ms. Lourdes de Jesus. Her spouse was my father’s grandfather because my father use to call Ms. Lourdes “Lola Ondes”. My father used to work on Balintawak Saving’s that is owned by Ms. Lourdes descendant.
    The real reason why I found this site because I’m searching for my Santos roots. My mothers grandparents was Andres Santos and Felisa Bonzon. Karamihan ng kamag-anak kong Santos ay nasa Sipac-Almacen. yun pong kapatid ng lolo ng nanay ko ang hindi namin kilala at magulang. hope someone can lead me to my Santos ancestors.. Salamat again mr. Edgardo.

  29. richard tuason-sanchez bautista said,

    October 28, 2011 at 3:21 am

    Hi Caressa,

    That’s what i asked the Lazaro house then when I went in the house. Are they related to the Lazaros of Malabon. Birth certificate made mention, yes you are related to them.

  30. Caressa Mae Lazaro said,

    October 26, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    I saw my grandfather’s (Ignacio Reyes Lazaro Sr.) birth certificate and knew that he’s birthplace is Malabon. We are now based in Iloilo. I wanted to know our lineage and if we still have relatives left in Malabon.

  31. Nestor Santos Fernandez said,

    September 14, 2011 at 5:17 am

    Ang email address ko po ay: rotsen2610@yahoo.com

  32. Nestor Santos Fernandez said,

    September 14, 2011 at 5:03 am

    Baka me nakakakilala po sa lolo namin na si Antonio Santos asawa po ng Lola namin na si Maria Ocampo. Naikwento po kasi ng nanay namin na si Leonila Santos na may relsyon ang lolo namin Kay Don Roman Santos. Noong bata pa raw po ang nanay ko sa Dagupan st. Sa tondo daw po ang bahay nila. Ang lolo Antonio ko po isa raw pong Dentista kaya lang po maliliit pa sila ng maaksidente ang lolo namin. Sana matulungan niyo rin kaming matunton ang mga ninuno namin. Maraming salamat po.. Nestor Santos Fernandez

  33. Suzi Marcelo said,

    September 1, 2011 at 11:25 pm

    Interesting reading. Brings back memories of the old country.

  34. edgardo celestino said,

    August 29, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    correction re: edgardo celestino said,
    August 8, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    in haste, i noticed that in addition to some typo errors, i missed a generation level or count.
    Mar Celestino Ortiz and Ron Santos De Jesus are fourth cousins.

    may i add that Felipe del Rosario, son of Marceliana Andres ( wife of Florentino del Rosario and sister of Juliana Andres and first cousin of Pascuala Andres ) is Lola Loleng’s second cousin and Lola Ondes’ first cousin.
    The maiden name of Lola Loleng is Dolores Andres Celestino and that of Lola Ondes is Lourdes Andres Santos.

    moreover, Julian Ochoa Andres 1843 – 1902, ( eldest son of Hilarion Andres and Leogarda Ochoa ) married Anselma Vasquez and their children are as follows:
    1. Pascuala
    2. Raymundo
    3. Rosauro
    4. Maximo
    5. Simeona
    6. Antonina

    Pascuala Vasquez Andres 1862 – 1945 married Canuto Eusebio Celestino 1861 – 1954) and their children are the following:
    1. Dominador 1905 – 1976
    2. Enrique 1906 – 1942
    3. Elena 1907 – 1945
    4. Clara 1908 – 1932
    5. Cerino 1909 – 1972
    6. Dolores ( Loleng ) 1912 – 1992
    7. Alejandro 1914 – 1978
    8. Teofilo ( Filo ) 1916 – 1990

  35. Mar Ortiz said,

    August 26, 2011 at 8:15 am

    thank you re: edgardo celestino said,
    August 8, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    if i am not mistaken you’re Arch. Edgardo Celestino, son of my lolo Filo right? and second cousin of my mother Pilar. the only memory of you when i was a child was a bespectacled young man. Thank you for giving light to some info regarding the link of Andres-Celestino clan to other known clan of Navotas. And to Ron Santos, nice knowing you as a third cousin.

  36. angie cruz said,

    August 23, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    I’m really interested with this old house in malabon. based on my research, it was camus house. i want to know everything about it. i want to know everything behind it. i once read an account that tells that in 1894, don pedro camus of malabon, once welcomed rizal to his house to reunite with the masons. is he related with this camus house?? to whom it may concern, please answer my question. thank you and God bless!

  37. Maria Yatco said,

    August 12, 2011 at 9:27 am

    HI.

    Thanks for an interesting site.

    May I know how to contact the family of the late Jose P. Marcelo/Marcelo Steel?

    Thank you.

  38. edgardo celestino said,

    August 8, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    i wish is to help clarify comments number 4 by ron santos de jesus and 5 by mar celestino ortiz. You guys are third cousins.

    both ron and mar are descendants of hilarion andres and leogarda ochoa
    from the book TAHANAN, they had 5 children: JULIAN, Francisca, Santiago, Cecilia and FLORENTINO. Most of the weath seems to have gone to FLORENTINO, the youngest son.

    ron’s great great grandfather is FLORENTINO while mar’s great great grandfater is the eldest JULIAN.

    Julian married Anselma Vasquez and they had a daughter PASCUALA who married CANUTO CELESTINO Lola Cuala and Lolo Canuto are my grandparents

    PASCUALA is the first cousin of JULIANA ANDRES SANTOS
    Therefore your Lola Loleng is the second cousin of your Lola Ondeng otherwise known as Lourdes Santos De Jesus

  39. Robert Pineda said,

    July 17, 2011 at 6:40 pm

    This one is for Mr. Enrique Bustos. I see that you have the Villonco’s family history. Well, I’m trying to find Jeannie Villonco who is the daughter of Vicente and Virginia Espinosa Villonco. She’s a very close friend from our school days in Manila during the 70s and we’re looking to have a reunion party in New York sometime in 2012. Any help that you can extend will be greatly appreciated.

  40. Susan Jumawan said,

    July 15, 2011 at 1:46 am

    We are looking for Alejandro Santos married to Nieves Jacinto Santos. Please contact Kagawad Susan Jumawan of Mamala 1, Sariaya, Quezon. Contact no. +63 9079471406. Thank you.

  41. Enrique Bustos said,

    July 12, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    The mother of Felipe del Rosario is Marceliana Andres-del Rosario she married Florentino del Rosario Marceliana is the sister of Juliana Andres-Santos wife of Roman Santos

  42. ron santos de jesus said,

    July 8, 2011 at 3:47 am

    Erratum: I think mar celestino ortiz, your connected to Lit del Rosario the mayors wife dahil sa may dugong Andres sya. si lola Ondes, de Jesus sya di ba? yung asawa niya kamag anak ng father ko, hindi ko lang alam kung paano. kung kapatid ba sya ng lolo ng tatay ko o pinsan sya. at alam ko yung may ari ng L&S chemical kamag anak din ng tatay ko. yan lang ang alam ko kasi ang father ko ay namayapa na..

  43. mar celestino ortiz said,

    April 21, 2011 at 9:25 am

    i came across your site and found it really interesting much like a history book.
    i belong to the clan of andres-celestino of almacen, navotas.my grand mother Dolores (Loleng) andres-Celestino is the daughter of Mayor Canuto Celestino but she passed away decades ago. i remember those christmas days wherein we visited relatives like Mayor Felipe del Rosario (but ’till now i’m confused as to who’s relative side were we) namamasko din kami sa residence ni Don Roman Santos, if my memory serves me right we were introduced to Lola Ondes by my Lola Loleng. But when we migrated to Valenzuela we seldom went to Navotas. Only during all saint’s day and also my Lola Loleng’s eyesight deteriorated because of cataract. since then, she can not visit her relatives in Navotas ’til her last day.

    It’s a pity that the Navotas i used to lived in is not the same Navotas during my childhood then. :(

  44. Annaly Zabat said,

    March 22, 2011 at 6:55 am

    Hello, im looking for a old friend who’s name is Aida Santos…She’s from the clan of Malabon Santos…She studied Architecture….met her in FEU way back 77… hope you could help me locate her….Thanks

  45. Enrique Bustos said,

    February 9, 2011 at 1:03 pm

    Angel Lazaro his son is former Energy Secretary Delfin Lazaro he married Broadcaster Che Che Aldaba Lim daughter of DSWD Secretary Estefania Aldaba Lim

  46. Enrique Bustos said,

    February 3, 2011 at 9:03 am

    Teofilo Villonco Sr married Angela Samson their children are
    1.Romeo Villonco married Thelma Ongsiako Gallego
    2.Nelly Villonco married Arthur Katigbak
    3.Vicente Villonco married Viring Espinosa
    4.Teofilo Villonco married Teresita Delgado
    5.Adelina Villonco-Villegas
    6.Nida Villonco
    7.Cecilia Villonco

    _______________________________________________________

    Santiago Viardo Syjuco married Felisa Geukeko their children are the FF.

    1.Augusto Syjuco married to Aurora LImcaoco
    2.Jose Syjuco he is head of the military tribunal that sentenced Sen Benigno Aquino Jr to death by firing squad he married Elsa Arellano daughter of Architect Arcadio Arellano their children are Ambassador Jose Syjuco and Marilou Syjuco she married newscaster Jose Mari Velez
    3.Santiago Syjuco Jr married Virginia Santos daughter of Augusto Santos of Prudential Bank
    4.A daughter married a Laurel Angeles of Batangas their children are
    a.Ed Angeles married to Renna Concepcion Hechanova
    b.Cecille Angeles married to Atty Andy Fornier son of Congressman Jose Fornier of Antique

    _______________________________________________________
    Maria Salao Santos became widowed she remarried to Ben Salgado a relative of Elisa Salgado-Miranda of Pampanga

    One of Maria Santos daughter is Lit Santos del Rosario wife of former Novotas Mayor Felipe del Rosario

  47. Adrian Maronilla said,

    January 16, 2011 at 6:56 am

    Originally, the Maronilla’s are from Libon, Albay

  48. Enrique Bustos said,

    December 1, 2010 at 4:30 am

    The trusted Legal Counsel and Neighbor of Lucio Tan in Sta Mesa Heights Atty Florencio Santos of the wealthy Santos family of Malabon

  49. Enrique Bustos said,

    November 19, 2010 at 5:58 am

    Former Press Under Secretary Carmen “Ching” de los Santos-Suva is a grand-daughter of Epifanio de los Santos

    Former Uniliver Chairman and Philippine Ambassador to England Cesar Bautista is from Malabon

    The Wife of the late Basketball legend and Business Tycoon Luis “Moro” Lorenzo, Alicia Paez is from Malabon

    Former Navotas Mayor Felipe Del Rosario he married Lit Salao Santos her sister is Chona Lazaro their first cousin is Letty Martinez

    Former Foreign Affairs Secretary Salvador P. Lopez married Maria Luna their children are Rosemary Lopez she married business tycoon Arturo Rocha and Laura Lopez-Lising

    Economist Calixto Chikiamco he married Food Magazine founder Norma Olizon

  50. Enrique Bustos said,

    October 17, 2010 at 3:46 pm

    Here is the website of the family tree of the Pascual family of Malabon http://www.pasqual.org/findex3.htm

  51. Enrique Bustos said,

    October 12, 2010 at 4:36 am

    Roberto Siochi married Maritina Angeles their son is Pedro Siochi he married Esperanza Villonco Pedro Siochi is one of the biggest contractors during his time

  52. September 27, 2010 at 4:12 pm

    Aida:

    Please be reminded:

    From now on, comments with no real names, no email addresses that can be confirmed, and no reliable identity checks will no longer be allowed.

    Please upload your comment again with the pertinent information.

    Thank you.

    Toto Gonzalez

  53. Cynia Hizon Solver said,

    September 27, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    I am always interested in tracing our roots. This is great! Thanks for sharing!

  54. Jerry Hizon said,

    September 27, 2010 at 11:56 am

    I didn’t know Hizon was a prominent family in Malabon.

  55. Enrique Bustos said,

    September 16, 2010 at 2:03 pm

    The Chairman of G.M.A 7 Atty Felipe Gozon is from Malabon is father Benjamin Gozon is a former Secretary of Agriculture during the Administration of Diosdado Macapagal

  56. Enrique Bustos said,

    September 16, 2010 at 2:00 pm

    Andres family tree from the Book Tahanan by Mike Santos

    Hilarion Andres married Leogarda Ochoa their children are the FF
    1.Julian Andres married Anselma Vasquez
    2.Francisca Andres married Potenciano Gabriel
    3.Santiago Andres married Luisa ?
    4.Cecilia Andres
    5.Florentino Andres married Anastacia Pascual their children are the Ff
    1.Hilario Andres
    2.Maceliana Andres married Florentino del Rosario
    3.Eleuteria Andres married Faustino Ignacio
    4.Juliana Andres married Roman Santos

    Santos family Tree

    Gregorio Tuason married Maria Pamintuan their children are the FF
    1.Maria Juana Tuason married Anastacio Hilario
    2.Escolastica Tuason married Olegario Rodriquez their children are the FF
    1.Juana Rodriquez married Agapito Guanzon
    2.Matea Rodriquez married Josef Sioco
    3.Prisca Ines Rodriquez married Justo Escaler
    4.Marta Rodriquez married Hilarion de Santos their children are the FF
    1.Rafaela Santos married Vicente Fernandez
    2.Maria Santos married Benigno Carlos
    3.Felisa Santos married Gregorio Trajano
    4.Roman Santos married Juliana Andres their children are the FF
    1.Augusto Santos married Virginia Luna
    2.Lourdes Santos married Pablo de Jesus
    3.Carmen Santos
    4.Federico Santos married Clara Luz Luna
    5.Horacio Santos married Sonia Gamboa
    6.Alicia Santos married Mario Luna Santos
    7.Virgilio Santos married Maria Pecson

    Roman Santos and Mercedes Nanao of Cavite their children are the FF
    1.Trinidad Santos married Genaro Yupangco
    2.Porfirio Santos Married Enriqueta Rodriquez
    3.HIlarion Santos married Florence Villanueva
    4.Manuel Santos married Guia Recio
    5.Antonio Santos married Imelda dela Rama
    6.Alejandro Santos married Nieves Jacinto
    7.Rosalina Santos married Bienvenido Garcia
    8.Pricilliana Santos married Rustico Victa

  57. Jel Roque Jiongco said,

    September 15, 2010 at 6:59 am

    The Roque, Jiongco, Javier, Cruz and Espiritu are from Malabon/Navotas.

  58. Enrique Bustos said,

    September 13, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    Artist Angel Cacnio is From Malabon

  59. Enrique Bustos said,

    September 11, 2010 at 5:58 am

    Epifanio de los Santos is the son of an affluent hacendero Escolastico de los Santos of Nueva Ecija and pianist Antonina Cristobal of Malabon he married Ursula Paez of Malabon then remarried Margarita Torralba of Malolos. Jose P. Santos, a son by his first wife, also became a distinguished Filipino historian, biographer, and collector
    Socrates Santos A son from second wife, became a leading Pentagon aeronautics engineer in his time

  60. Aurora Santos Alipio said,

    September 9, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    For Richard Tuazon-Sanchez Bautista

    I am so happy that you have communication with my first cousin Manuel Santos-de Leon, and you both know the names of our relatives. I believe we are REALLY SECOND COUSINS because your lolo and our lolo are brothers and our parents are first cousins, right?

    Before i moved to Canada, Manuel’s mom and I went to Malabon and we got the address and phone number of Aurea in Sarnia, Ontario. I know she is the daughter of Lola Maria.

    I hope that through this site, we can come closer together as COUSINS.. I am here in Canada now with my family and will appreciate if you could email me directly at aurora.alipio@gmail.com so we can give each other our contact numbers. I hope to see you personally someday.. GOD BLESS..

  61. Manuel Santos de Leon said,

    September 8, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    Thanks Chard. By the way about your Lolo Seniong, I was always hearing about him from my mom the name Judge Arsenio Santos when i was a kid. How about the other half-sister of Don Arsenio, Lola Maria? Do you have knowledge of her? When I was a kid we used to visit as well Lola Maria who was the wife of Lolo Iko. Lolo Iko and Lola Maria were the parents of Auntie Dra. Aurea Santos-Jose who married a pathologist, if I am not mistaken her husband is an Indian nationality. Correct me if I was wrong. I met also before their daughter named Shanty and her brother but I forgot the name. They used to leave in Ontario, Canada and still until now they are in Ontario.

  62. Richard Tuason-Sanchez Bautista said,

    September 8, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    Hi Manuel, Im not related to the Bautistas of Malabon. It’s my mom who is a pure na taga Malabon. Not unless his Bautista came from Nueva Ecija.

  63. Manuel Santos de Leon said,

    September 7, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    Hello Richard, thank you for your info. By the way, do you know Ronald Bosky Bautista? He is my former officemate in Intex Telecom. I think he is also from Malabon.

  64. Richard Tuason-Sanchez Bautista said,

    September 7, 2010 at 2:09 pm

    Correction on the “Angkan” by Martin Tinio from Mike Santos ( Vicente Roman Santos Santos ):

    1. TWO sons (not one) of Benedicto Luna (of Batangas) and Bernabela Rufino y Santos (of Malabon) resided in Malabon. These are my great grandfather, Ángel Luna y Rufino (who married Filemena Cruz y Talag) and David Luna y Rufino (who married Ándrea Páez). The latter couple were the first to live in the Luna-Páez house at the end of Calle Páez in Dongan known for its Amorsolo frescoes. (Incidentally, Angel and David were among 5 children of Benedicto and Bernabela).

    2. Angel Luna and Filomena Cruz had FOUR (not three) children. the first, Benedicto, married his first cousin, Francisca, daughter of Remigio Luna and Rafaela Dinglasan y Luna (Remigio and Rafaela were first cousins too). The second, Avelina, married Agapito Yaptinchay of Biñan, Laguna, as Noni Agulto mentioned. The third, my grandmother, Felicidad married Arsenio Santos y Santos (of Baritan, Malabon, one-time mayor of Malabon and subsequently judge; a second cousin of his father-in-law, Angel Luna on the Bernabela Rufino y SANTOS side, but not related by blood to the Santoses of Navotas). The fourth, Virginia married Augusto Santos y Andres of Navotas (son of Román Santos y Rodríguez of Apalit and Juliana Andrés y Pascual of Navotas who were second cousins on the Ochoa side).

    3. Clarita, the daughter of Benedicto and Francisca, married Federico Santos y Andrés (may I just add that Federico is the BROTHER of Augusto Santos).

    4. It is correct that Mario, the son of Felicidad and Judge Arsenio married Alicia Santos y Andres. But Alicia Santos y Andrés (my mom) is NOT the first cousin of Mario. Alicia is the SISTER of Augusto and Federico. Thus did three Santos siblings (Augusto, Federico and Alicia) marry three Lunas (Virginia, her niece Clarita, and nephew Mario respectively). Incidentally, all these Santos-Andrés of Navotas are related to sina Toto González, whose blog you emailed me about. The González matriarch, Florencia Sioco y Rodríguez de González and Román Santos y Rodriguez were first cousins. They were grandchildren of Olegario Rodríguez of Bacolor, Pampanga.

    The Malabon Santoses mentioned by Manuel Santos de Leon are related to me also on the side of Lolo Seniong. Asuncion Santos-Martinez (of Tropicana Press) is the half-sister of Judge Arsenio Santos. These are the Santoses of Barrio Baritan, Malabon. Tio Carding Martínez, son of Lola Cion (Asuncion) married a daughter of Fernando Amorsolo. (So Manuel Santos de Leon and I are probably second cousins.)

  65. Richard Tuason-Sanchez Bautista said,

    September 7, 2010 at 10:13 am

    Former President Joseph Estrada’s (Joseph Marcelo Ejercito) mother was Dona Mary Marcelo Ejercito, was the daughter of Simeon Marcelo, who hailed from Malabon.

    Simeon’s brother was a Katipunero, and still has the 19th century house in Malabon.

    What is strange is that, Former President Estrada during the impeachment trial, Atty Simeon Marcelo served as the principal private prosecutor in the impeachment case against him.

  66. Enrique Bustos said,

    September 7, 2010 at 7:40 am

    The Patriarch of the Villonco family is Teofilo Villonco Sr his children are the FF
    1.Romeo Villonco married Thelma Ongsiako Gallego
    2.Nelly Villonco married Arthur Katigbak
    3.Vicente Villonco married Viring Espinosa
    4.Teofilo Villonco married Norma Delgado
    5.Adelina Villonco Villegas
    6.Nida Villonco
    7.Cecilia Villonco

  67. Richard Tuason-Sanchez Bautista said,

    September 7, 2010 at 6:34 am

    hi Enrique,

    Correct me if I’m wrong, Mario Luna Santos, son of Arsenio Santos & Felicidad Luna married Alicia Andres Santos, daughter of Don Roman Santos and Juliana Andres.

  68. Enrique Bustos said,

    September 7, 2010 at 4:26 am

    from “Batangas: Forged in Fire” edited by Ramon N. Villegas, Ayala Foundation [ "Angkan" article written by Martin I. Tinio Jr. ]:

    The Luna of Batangas City are descendants of Benedicto Luna whose name was mentioned by Jose Rizal in the first chapter of Noli Me Tangere. According to Nick Joaquin, Luna was born in Tanuan in the 1830’s. Benedicto Luna married Bernabela Rufino, sister of Macario Rufino, a Bangueño who emigrated to Malabon and whose descendants established a movie theater chain.
    One of Benedicto and Bernabela’s sons, Remigio Luna, settled in batangas town. He established pawnshops in Batangas and Tayabas provinces. Although disorganized, he became quite rich. Remigio kept records for his lending operations on the back of an aparador door. Faced with a lawsuit, he simply took the door off its hinges, lugged it to court, presented it to the judge as evidence, and won the case! He married Rafaela dinglasan, a Batangueña whose brother emigrated to Capiz and founded the Dinglasan clan there. Kind-hearted, Remigio allowed women to take pawned jewelry out to wear for the fiesta, even without paying the loans. Of course, many of them did not bother to return the pieces afterwards. He used to go around dispensing pills and prescriptions to whoever was suffering from any ailment. Once, he went to a barrio with his daughter, a doctor. The townspeople lined up before him and insisted that he,and not his doctor daughter, should examine them. Such was their faith.
    Remigio and Rafaela had several daughters: Severina, Manuela, Francisca, and Consuelo; and two sons: Maximino and Esteban. Severina, the valedictorian at the U.P. School of Medicine in 1914, married her classmate, Dr. Sixto Orosa of Taal. Manuela was the second wife of Don Pablo Borbon. Francisca married her first cousin Benidicto Luna. Consuelo married Dr. Narciso Cordero from Pansanjan; their daughter Gilda Cordero, noted writer and publisher, married President Aquino’s Energy secretary, Marcelo Fernando of Bulacan. Maximino married his first cousin, Felicidad Arenas. Esteban married Mariquita Alegre.
    Benedicto and Bernabela Luna’s other son migrated to Malabon and had a son named after grandfather Benedicto, as well as two daughters, Virginia and Felicidad. Grandson Benedicto Luna married his first cousin, Francisca Luna, the daughter of Don Remigio. Benidicto and Francisca’s daughter, Clarita, married Federico Santos while Benedicto’s younger sister, Felicidad, married Judge Arsenio Santos of Malabon (not related to the Navotas Santoses). Their son, Mario Luna Santos, married his first cousin, Alicia Luna Santos, daughter of Augusto and Virginia.

  69. Enrique Bustos said,

    September 7, 2010 at 2:49 am

    The former owner of 7-Up Bottling Co is Augusto Syjuco is from Malabon he married Aurora Limcaoco their children are the FF
    1.Augusto Jr congressman of Iloilo married Judy Jalbuena
    2.Malin married to Augusto Benedicto Santos of Prudential Bank
    3.Cesare an artist

    Evelyn Camus Alcantara is from Malabon she married Felicisimo Alcantara a scion of the Alcantara family of Mindanao

    The Siochi family is a business partner of the Lopa family in Mantrade and before that the Yuchengco patriarch Enrique Yuchengco

    The son of Linda Marcelo Tiangco Congressman Toby Tiangco is married to a niece of Former First Lady Imelda Marcos the daughter of Alita Romualdez Martel

  70. September 6, 2010 at 3:18 pm

    Enrique:

    So the Rufinos are of Italian descent. Tony and Raffy Rufino will like that. :)

    Toto Gonzalez

  71. Enrique Bustos said,

    September 6, 2010 at 3:15 pm

    According to Jeannie Licuanan the Rufino Family is descended from an Italian merchant named Ruffini

  72. Enrique Bustos said,

    September 6, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    Industrialist Jose P.Marcelo is from Malabon together with his wife Edith Perez de Tagle they built the Marcelo industrial empire, consisting of MARCELO ENTERPRISES,MARCELO TIRE & RUBBER CORP MARCELO RUBBER AND LATEX PRODUCTS,MARCELO STEEL CORPORATION,MARCELO CHEMICAL & PIGMENT CORP, & POLARIS MARKETING CORPORATION

  73. Enrique Bustos said,

    September 6, 2010 at 6:11 am

    The wife of Don Roman Santos Juliana Andres Santos sister Marceliana Andres married Florentino del Rosario their children are the FF.
    1.Avelina
    2.Francisco married Trinidad dela Cruz
    3.Felipe married Lourdes Cruz

    The owner of Manila Central University Filemon Tanchoco is from Malabon his parents are Adriano Tanchoco and Dionisia Dionisio

    The founder of University of the East Francisco Dalupan and his wife Lorenza Adam are from Malabon their children are the FF
    1.Francisco, Jr
    2.Consuelo
    3.Virgilio the legendary basketball coach
    4.Conchita
    5.Stella
    6.Teresita

    The Founder of Arellano University Florentino Cayco is also from Malabon he married Elisa Esquerra

    Malabon of yesteryears whose population in 1888 was recorded at 20,608 people It was a town of great commercial importance. At that time Malabon had some 160 textile mills making jusi and silk that are used for shirts, skirts, and scarves, 65 to 70 rice mills, many fishponds as well as bancas and cascos for fishing in the sea and for navigating the distance between Manila and Malabon, and a number of fish pens erected by well-off inhabitants. The town had saltbeds producing an estimated 10,000 fanegas of salt annually. A fanega is a unit of capacity that varied between 5.5 and 22.5 liters depending upon the district. It also boasted then of having a rum and anise wine making plant, a big business owned by a Chinese named Santos

  74. Manuel Santos de Leon said,

    September 4, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    I’m a Santos from Malabon. My lolo is Amadeo Santos who is a brother of Lola Asuncion Santos Martinez and Lola Maria Santos Jose. We settled in Taytay, Rizal.

    My lolo Amadeo was missing during japanese occupation. I want to know my Santos’ family for since a long time that we’ve no contact with our families in Malabon. My mother is now 74 yo and i just learned few stories from her about our Santos family. We were visiting Malabon when I was a kid. We used to visit Lola Maria and Lola Scion and I had medical check with my Auntie Dr. Aurea Santos before.

    If anyone knows about my relatives i would be very much grateful. It’s indeed a gift from heaven to know the family roots where we came from.

    Manuel Santos de Leon

  75. Vicente Roman Santos Santos said,

    July 5, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    Dear Toto,

    Just a few additional surnames, including those from sister town Navotas. Incidentally, Tambobong (Malabon) was a town in the Province of Manila. It only became part of the miltary province of Morong (later Rizal) under American rule.

    Cruz, Villongco, Villonco, Maronilla, Coronel (originally from Pampanga), Geukeko, Juat, Naval, de Dios, Sevilla, Marcelo, Lapus (originally from Pampanga), Oreta, Magbiray, Baens, Dagala, Celestino, Buenaventura, Rufino (as in Rufino Building in Makati), Laiz, Vicencio, Yanga (converted to Santiago for aesthetic reasons).

    The Sevillas of Malabon have a family tree where they list down the surnames of old Malabon (which included Navotas for most of its history under Spanish rule). If you’re interested let me know.

    Mike Santos

  76. Myles Garcia said,

    June 16, 2010 at 4:31 pm

    How about the Tschikaboomskayas and the Tampipi’s…aren’t they from this neck of the woods, too? :-) :-)

  77. Richard Tuason-Sanchez Bautista said,

    June 14, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    http://www.lonelyplanet.com/groups/malabon-metro-manila

  78. Richard Tuason-Sanchez Bautista said,

    June 14, 2010 at 6:30 am

    The Chikiamco family too.

  79. Richard Tuason-Sanchez Bautista said,

    June 14, 2010 at 4:20 am

    Other families that can be added here;

    Don Simeon Blas, Borja (of the Rojas-Borjas), Bosch (Remedios Bosch Jimenez), Cayco, Daza, de Jesus, Dionisio, Gaza, Gozon, Ibaviosa, Ignacio, Joson, Lazaro, Manapat, Marcelo, Nepomuceno, Ortega, Rivera, Romero, Roque, Salao, Sanciangco (Gregorio), Epifanio delos Santos, Siochi, Tanchoco (of MCU),

    Navotas side

    del Rosario (related to the Andres family), Lachenal, Naval, Roldan

    Individual stories;

    the likes of Liberato Syjuco de Jesus, when he was featured in cocktales.

    Aling Rosa Bernardo Naval who was ignored in Rustan’s

    the perpetuated stories of Don Roman Santos, and a Gabriel who were under estimated in those high end stores.

  80. Paz Atienza said,

    June 12, 2010 at 10:27 am

    The Tiangcos I believe were also from Malabon along with the Bernardos of Hulong Duhat.

  81. Richard Tuason-Sanchez Bautista said,

    June 10, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    Who among the many Santoses? (Urbano, Roman, Arsenio);

    You have Don Pantaleon Bautista (grand father of Amb. Cesar Bautista) and Don Basilio Bautista (husband of Dona Gertrudes Ignacio Bautista);

    Paez, Camus, Martinez, Dalupan, as well;

    Teyet Pascual’s family are the Pascuals of Navotas and Malabon;

    Famed legends of Roman Santos, Gabriel and Naval stories, how simple they were and were underestimated in high end stores;

    Loren’s mom, Besy Bautista is not from the Bautistas of Malabon. They just stayed in a house in the Malabon side of University hills (formerly the Manila Golf Club).

  82. Dr. Taddy Buyson Gonzales said,

    June 5, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    The merchants of Malabon were known as the moneylenders when banking was not around yet nor were the Bumbays.

    Unfortunately, some were labeled “hudios”, no offense intended.

  83. Enrique Bustos said,

    June 2, 2010 at 8:32 am

    The Rufino family and the Villonco family are also from Malabon.

  84. Enrique Bustos said,

    June 2, 2010 at 7:51 am

    The Syjucos are also from Malabon.

  85. Noni Agulto said,

    June 2, 2010 at 1:06 am

    Hmmm…. I have the book “Tahanan: A House Reborn” which wonderfully documents the careful and painstaking dismantling of the Santos-Andres House in Malabon to the accurate reconstruction in Antipolo. It also contains vivid accounts of the Family’s history, the beginning and rise to power and wealth of Don Roman Santos. I love that book.

    From Binan, my grandfather’s (half) brother, Agapito Yaptinchay married Avelina S. Luna (I guess that would be Santos-Luna) from Malabon…… it’s a small world after all. =)

    cheers

    noni

  86. Myles Garcia said,

    June 1, 2010 at 10:40 pm

    I believe you can include Bautista (Loren’s maternal side–a big clan), Laperal and Marcelo here as well.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 397 other followers

