Keeping it All in The Family

Someone once asked me, over an elegant dinner, how rich Filipino families “keep the money in the family.”

Me, of all people.  Perhaps the least qualified to answer questions pertaining to Money. 

“Oh, easy,” I breezily answered, “just like all rich people around the world!!!” 

“How???”

“Oh, the usual multiple lawsuits, business partners versus erstwhile partners, lovers versus erstwhile lovers, heirs versus other heirs,  children versus parents, parents versus children, illegitimate children versus the family, siblings versus siblings [ actually everybody against everybody except for the family pets who have their own forms of litigation ], murder attempts [ sometimes successful ], kidnap attempts [ sometimes successful ], suicide attempts [ sometimes successful ], physical assault, forged signatures, falsified documents, corporate wars, preemptive rights, business sabotage, stock manipulations, dummy corporations, landgrabbing, evictions [ from mansions and penthouses ], arson, demolitions, unauthorized USD $ and Euro withdrawals in Hong Kong, New York, Boston, and Zurich, unauthorized pullouts of major jewelry from SDBs in Hong Kong, New York, and elsewhere, forgeries, keeping the dead legally alive [ for years ], killing living people legally, confinements in mental institutions, press revelations, social murder, robbery, outright theft, mental anguish, intrigues [ fabricated but self-fulfilling ], accusations [ oftentimes true ], confrontations,  emotional blackmail… and all those other wonderful, traditional family values!!!”  *laughsoutloud*

“Nothing original though… nothing like bomb implants in the brain.  At least, not yet.”  I added. 

The soignee table was stunned.  Guilty, guilty, guilty…???

It was a good answer, wasn’t it???

6 Comments

  1. February 5, 2007 at 1:54 pm

    Adjie:

    Thank you for enjoying my silly blog!!!

    I would just love to visit Talisay, Negros Occidental again and see the beautiful ancestral houses of The Lizares and The Lacson again.

    You might think I’m crazy [ which I am! ], but I actually liked the rock music booming out at Tana Dicang’s because it gave the grand old house a hip, updated atmosphere, besides driving the termites away…!!! *lolsz!*

    Our dear friend Gino Gonzales is a fabulous person: very talented and very competent!!! Small wonder that he is at the top of his profession in Manila. But if I was his father, I would send him back to New York, where his incredible talents are most appreciated!!!

    Adjie, even Parisian aristocrats and London peers prepare and serve tea with their own hands. After all, it’s the 21st century… !!!

    I’m glad to hear that you’re enjoying Life. What a wonderful, positive mindset!!! I can’t say the same for myself, having been a veteran of several situations I described above. Well, as one wag said: “When Life gives you Lemons, make Lemonade!!!” *lolsz!*

    Keep the comments coming!!!

    Toto Gonzalez

  2. Adrian Lizares said,

    February 5, 2007 at 9:20 am

    Toto!

    Keep on writing! I have now a new habit to indulge in during my free time, oops, and it has taken over some of my work hours as well!

    You should come and visit us here in Talisay again! Let me assure you, there will be no more uncalled-for Rock Music to be heard at Tana Dicang’s (our venerated ancestral domain) home, just some Bach, Della Reese, and perhaps Miles Davis from a hidden tin can.

    Gino G*nzales whom I met last summer was the one who mentioned your blog to me, so here I am! He came over but late for lunch when the other guests had gone some days before, so a one-on-one with this very talented Gino, of course gone are the days of liveried butlers so I had to serve the tea myself, just as I mix the fabulous martinis, all by yours truly, which is not so bad at all!

    Life is but Beautiful (am enjoying every minute!)…
    :)

    adjie

  3. February 4, 2007 at 10:13 am

    Adjie:

    How on earth did I manage to string all that in one breath???

    By Personal Experience, of course!!! Bwahahahahah!!!

    Given the enormous fortune of the L*zares Clan of Talisay, Negros Occidental, it is impossible that intrafamily relationships are always harmonious. Someone always wants more than the rest. Someone always gets more than the rest. And the rest will always want more than the rest.

    What more can I say but: “Enjoy the ride, Adjie!!!”

    Toto Gonzalez

  4. Adrian Lizares said,

    February 2, 2007 at 5:42 pm

    MY GOD Toto, you are absolutely correct! And let me point this out, YOU are the person most intelligently capable of bringing all these and more to fore at that dinner table, now how on earth did you manage to string all that in one breath??? I’ve always described my family, as a joke, a very ‘traditional’ one, well there you have it!

    adjie lizares

  5. December 14, 2006 at 1:56 pm

    xxxx:

    That’s terrible. It’s amazing how people can actually do those things…

    Go ask Vic B.. He’ll give you the whole lowdown…

    Toto Gonzalez

  6. xxxx said,

    December 14, 2006 at 3:28 am

    This reminds me of what happened to President Marcos’s sister’s house in Forbes. A niece or nephew apparently forged her signature and initiated a contract to sell on behalf of the Fortuna Marcos Barba family. I wonder whatever happened to that….


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 401 other followers

